Monday, September 23rd 

Gala Location / Space54  in NYC



The Louis Armstrong

Center for Music & Medicine



The Wonderful World annual gala, hosted by Wonderful World: Friends of Music Therapy Inc (WWFMT), honors the legacy of Louis Armstrong and his commitment to bettering the lives of others through music. Proceeds are given to our beneficiary, The Louis Armstrong Center for Music & Medicine (LACMM) in NYC. 


Each year we recognize a dynamic group of musicians, artists, physicians, philanthropists, and patients for making the world a better place. This year, our honorees include GRAMMY Award winning bassist/composer and the host of NPR's Jazz Night in America, Christian McBride, who will be receiving the Phoebe Jacobs Award; the prolific composer, conductor, and French hornist, David Amram, will be receiving our Lifetime Achievement Award; Deborah Korzenik, Senior Associate General Counsel of the Mount Sinai Health System, will be honored for her work in patient care and medical ethics; and artist Julia Justo who will be honored for her incredible artistry and resilience as a music therapy patient.


The evening will include a reception that will be sonically animated by a 90-minute set from one of the leading timbales artists in Tropical Music and Latin Jazz today, Tito Rodríguez, Jr.; a silent auction; and an opening performance by Bruce Sabath from the Broadway production, Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish. Masters of Ceremony for the evening's program are Mercedes Ellington and Bill Daughtry, with music performances from saxophonist Erik Lawrence and the Garry Dial Trio, plus a memorable award presentation for our honorees.



Monday, Sept. 23, 2019



(New Venue)
226 East 54th Street

New York, NY 10022

(Btw 2nd and 3rd Ave.)


6-9 PM


Business / Cocktail


Event  Committee

Edwin Sirlin



Howard Rubin



Sharon Mahn



Greg Gullia


Jon Batiste

Melanie Schnoll Begun

Jordan Bleznick

Don Brancaccio

Joan Brancaccio

Kevin Brannan

Danelle Marqui Brown

Linda Carroza

Lisabeth Cassaday

Gwendolyn DeLuca

Ellen Devens

Susan Devens

Mercedes Ellington

Michele Sherman Entner

Janet Falk

Kevin Fee

Edward Finkelstein

Joyce Fogel

Lincoln Foley

Nathan Goldstein

Ellen Goosenberg

Erica Grabscheid

Helen Greenbaum



Stephan Quentzel

Joelle Quinn

Charles Radcliffe

Jonathan Raskin

Rita Romeur

Alanna Rutherford

Elaine Schain

Howard Schain

Doug Seidman

Karen Seidman

Fran Silverman

Noah K. Simon

Donna Sirlin

Edwin Sirlin

Peter Strauss

Zelda Suzan

Aimee Telsey

Lynn Tescher

Patricia Walker

Marc Waserman

Rema Webb

Patty Weiner


Elizabeth Greenwald

Greg Gullia

Alan Horowitz

Elizabeth Horowitz

Jackie Harris

Miriam Javitch

Herb Klitzner

Michael Leitman

Erik Lawrence

Sharon Mahn

Marla Maples

Collen McDonough

Budd Mishkin

Meredith Monk

James Briggs Murray

Barbara Novick

Arturo O’Farrill

Kristen Olson

Rebecca Parker

Steve Pastor

Harriet Jahr Philips

Joseph Piccinnini

Kim Polson

Wonderful World: Friends of Music Therapy (WWFMT), a 501 (c) 3 organization,* was established to provide assurances for those most in need, through the magic of music and human-centered healthcare.  All monies raised through Wonderful World: Friends of Music Therapy, a 501 (c) 3 organization, go to The Louis Armstrong Center for Music and Medicine in New York City. 

Our mailing address is: 
Wonderful World: Friends of Music Therapy Inc.
1100 Clove RD 4E
Staten Island, NY 10301

Copyright @2020 Wonderful World: Friends of Music Therapy, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

*We are incorporated in the State of New York and have timely applied with the IRS to be recognized as a section 501(c)(3) tax exempt entity under the Internal Revenue Code, effective as of the date of our incorporation.Accordingly, your donation will be deductible to the extent it exceeds the fair market value of any goods received by you in exchange for your donation.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon